One Down, Twenty-three to go

Posted: June 25, 2010 in Terrain, Trench Table
Tags: , , , ,

So it took a while, and the last wash is still drying, but the first tile in my modular trench table is finished.  Now I only have to make 23 more.  Even at one a week that is 23 weeks and that doesn’t even count all the time I spent already, especially doing research.  I scoured the internet for bits and tutorials. I bought books, I’m going to see a few movies, but basically I got it right, not historically perfect, but good enough. Almost Done

Things to improve, more grit.  I will put beach sand over most of the tile next time.  Cat liter can bunch up and not let scatter terrain sit on it very well, but beach sand, nothing I make is going to be so delicate that it can’t sit on top of beach sand.  I’ll still have the really fine sand for some spots, but their won’t be bare foam showing like on this tile.  I drybrushed it, but the grittier stuff takes the drybrush better.  I could do a heavier drybrush but I’m trying to get better at drybrushing not worse.

I wish I would have put another piece of battlefield debris by the crater I carved into the tile.  That didn’t come out as nice as the ‘bought’ craters, but it may be cover-able with scatter terrain, if not on this tile then on some other.  The other option is to put a lot more grit, maybe even some foam or cork.  I bought some scrap cork the other day, as part of my two dollar expenditure at the strange craft store on Main Street.

Awesome Paint Job Rust PigmentsThe next time won’t be done for a while.  I need to finish off my army for this years Astronomi-con Vancouver.  I think I need to paint five more guys, a couple rank and file and my HQ.  I put enough effort into this tile, hopefully I get better.  I plan to thin the Terra Cotta paint next time, this time I just put it on pretty much out it came out of the container.

One last thing I tried out was some pigments I got off of AwesomePaintJob.com, this was a bit of an impulse buy, as I already had some pigments, but I was big into trying out new techniques, and one I’ve never used much is pigments.  I also mixed into my rust mixtures, Rust Brown Ink, water and later, the Foundation Orange.  I’ve tried out a lot of new, small, one person hobby companies, after reading about them on Table Top Gaming News or elsewhere.

Down in the Trenches

The Finished Tile

Comments
  1. […] to need more Popsicle sticksOne tile nears completionTaking and holding trenches in Warhammer 40,000One Down, Twenty-three to goI own too many unpainted models […]

  2. […] Posts I'm going to need more Popsicle sticksStill EntrenchingOne Down, Twenty-three to goMy Top 10 old hobby postsLaying the Lumber […]

Leave a Reply

