I own too many unpainted models

Posted: June 26, 2010 in Op Ed, Servants of Decay, Stuff, Waaagh Musk
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I blame the internet.  Plus the fact that I’ve moved around so much my greenskins in particular were in storage for maybe ten years or longer.  I just went through an old home made case I thought was mostly empty of miniatures to discover it was more pieces of my WFB Orcs and Goblins army.  I knew I owned that stuff, but I’d kinda given up getting it painted after burning out paint a 100 plus plastic goblins.  I also discovered in another twin case that I had more OOP 40K ork stuff.  I even told the Waaagh as they have some other old timers who would take my collection off my hands.

My current unemployment has hammered home that I have just too much hobby stuff.  I mean armies I haven’t used for a decade… If I could host, I could invite people over to play, so I’ll keep working on terrain, get a new job, and then afford a bigger place.  However no matter how much painting I do in the next two years I’m not finishing off all the unpainted Chaos and Ork models I have no way.  In order to give myself a chance I’m done buying new stuff, especially impulse new stuff that doesn’t even fit my core two armies.  What I don’t paint in two years or at least think about painting or incorporating into my painted miniature collection in some way will be sold informally or eBay’ed.

We’ll just have to see how well I do, what’s the date, June 26th 2010, so we’ll see what June 26th 2012 brings.

Of course there are exceptions, one thing I’ve been collecting bits for and pricing out new models, expensive Forge World models is a Rebel Militia army.  I couldn’t afford to and didn’t have the time to paint an entirely new army by this years Astronomi-con Vancouver, but to coincide with the debut of my trench table, I plan to have a new army too.  This will require buying some Imperial Guard and Forge World bits.  However since this is my first new army since 1996 I’ll make an exception, it is my older armies that are too big.  The rules keep changing so project priority changes and I’ve just bought stuff during deals or even won stuff to accumulate my unpainted, even unassembled, and unopened horde of metal and plastic.

Enough or too much.

Comments
  1. […] side I’ve used up most of my backpacks and torsos.  I gotta stop buying loyalists… Of course I’m trying not to buy any models, I have plenty of one piece metal chaos space marines, including a pile of […]

  2. […] Comments Finishing Up Old Mod… on 2 Down, 22 to GoFreshly Assembled Mi… on I own too many unpainted …Not all quiet on the… on One Down, Twenty-three to…Still Entrenching … on One […]

Leave a Reply

