So having finished off two terrain tiles, I cleaned up my painting area pretty good, put away most of the materials and bits that were littering the floor and set about getting some models finished an off my painting table.  The first batch I decided to finished were mostly already painted.  The batch consisted of some new Nurgle demons that I’d been painting on the side and experimenting on, also added to the queue was an old plastic goblin spearman.  This model had a bent spear and hadn’t been seen for years having gotten stuck to some foam.  I fixed the spear and gave the model an average actually better than average paintjob, plus affixed a shield to him. Touching up and finishing miniatures

The two models I finished first were too old mid 90s Diseased Sons character models.  Both were converted to have jump packs, one an old Ork jump pack and the other a converted metal loyalist jump pack.  Back in the day during 1st and 2nd edition jump pack characters were all the rage.  They usually had conversion or possibly even displacer fields which made them tough to kill.  Now-a-days models seem to go about in rhinos and land raiders as it is safer and the models are cheaper and readily available.

Old plastic Goblin SpearmanThe one with no helmet is Oderous the Unclean he was the lord/leader in the early days of the Diseased Sons.  The other model which is in Crusader Armor was usually used as a lieutenant, sometimes both would be in an army list.  He only has a chainsword whereas Oderous usually used a Plague Sword or sometimes a Deamon Weapon when I went a bit over the top.

These models were considered pretty damn well painted back in 96 or 97.  I learned that once sealed you can’t use washes much on old minis so when I update one, I generally just add highlights or paint in lowlights.  These models got the tiny line treatment and because they have sentimental value and I wasn’t in a hurry I touched up and improved a lot of things about the models, from Oderous’s face to the leather bits.  This is the best these models have ever looked. Old Diseased Sons HQ

I still don’t think they’ll see the tabletop much, I may make another lord with wings someday, but generally I try to keep costs down on my HQ and like everyone else stick them with a squad in a vehicle for safety.  I was going to make some Nurgle Raptors and I’ll probably still do it someday, but first I think I’ll do Khorne Raptors it makes more sense tactically.  I’m also trying not to buy stuff, but to complete a squad of 8 Khorne Raptors I may need another jump pack or two plus possibly legs… Though I think I’ll get buy it will be the Noisemarines which I’ll do someday too, that will require the buying of some more legs and torsos.

WIP PlaguebearersThe models that I put a lot of work into, especially relative to their importance are the Nurgle demons.  I don’t need more painted Nurgle demons, I can’t even use them in a Chaos Space Marine army currently.  However I bought some both for fun and because I had a plan for hordes of Nurglings…  After buying and assembling them they sat primed in a box for years so slowly I’m working through them.  I think I have six more stands to go.  I use Nurglines and Plaguebearers to try out new techniques and color combinations, sometimes I just use up paint on them left on my palette.

These models were mostly finished prior to the terrain building period, but I still had enough bits undone to try some more stuff out.  The blue grey skin may become a fixture of my Servants of Decay force.  The Zombie on the Nurgling base was painted similar to how I did the sandbags with GW greens: Gretchin, Camo, and Rotting Flesh.  Camo isn’t so important now that I have Gretchin green, it is probably better for zombies anyway.  I used washes mostly Badaab Black and Devlan Mud but also probably Gryphonne Sepia.  Most of my plague demons will look similar to this one, but I’ll try to streamline the technique some. Three dark reds made by Reaper

Plaguebearers with dark red gutsThe other thing I wanted to test was the new Reaper brand dark reds I bought.  The plaguebearers especially the pale one had lots of exposed guts these got covered in Terracotta Clay, Bloodstain Red, and Clotted Red.  Clotted Red is the big winner it covers well and is a nice dark red. The others are more brown, still useful but when trying to get say a squad done I’ll be keeping my red recipe as simple as possible.  I will be painting some Khorne worshiping models and I don’t want them wearing no sissy red.  GW reds especially the new ones tend towards orange.  I don’t want that.

I’m going to Vancouver Island for a few days, see the family, watch the World Wup final with my cousin from Austria.  So I’m trying to get these models done before I go.  I tried finishing them last night but it is getting hot in Vancouver even late into the night.  The reds are drying right now, soon I’ll give them some washes and some highlights with GW reds, I have plenty of those then finish off their weapons and the rags on the one model and they’ll be done.

I tried to use my Awesome Paint Job.com Drying Blood wash but despite shaking regularly it separates and then gums up its dispenser.  I ended up mixing a bit of the thick stuff with water and using that.  I bought three of these washes and the only one that has worked is well I used an excessive amount of Cool Gray again because it gummed up and came out in a big blurt.  I’ve taken to poking a needle in the Reaper and these pots, Vallejo gives me less trouble but it separates too, it just mixes back together better. Next four models I will paint

I have various red washes, glazes, and inks mostly old GW stuff, but you can buy artist ink.  I’ve been buying some of that mostly orange, sepia, and flesh.  I have this olive green one too, but I haven’t tried it.  Oh well maybe on the next batch of Nurglings.

I’m using pigment mixed with water and my beloved old Rust Brown Ink to make the rust on the Plaguebearers blades.  I’ll also probably mix in some orange paint as I often do two or three tones of rust to get an interest effect.  My mom just called so I have to wrap up the miniatures and this post and make sure I don’t miss the 5 o’clock ferry.  It is only 2:30 but I also have to pack and take out the garbage…  I wish I would have done the laundry I guess yesterday, but I guess it will just wait until I return.

I’m going to try the Krylon Matte sealant on these models.  I used it on some of my scatter terrain, nothing bad happened, but we gotta wait and see how it wears, I don’t play much, but I do use my models in games occasionally.  When I get back from Vancouver Island I’ll work on these four tester models and maybe yet more Nurgle demons.

Nurgling Stand

Plaguebearer of Nurgle

Plaguebearer of Nurgle

Contrary to what you may have read elsewhere online, I do know how to paint Nurgle models.

Comments
  1. wabaccontrol says:

    I’ve been mixing up Les Bursley’s base mix and just playing with that when I want to use inks or paints as washes. I’ve had to add a couple of ‘mixing-balls’ to the bottle that I use for this.
    I think his mix separates because of the high water content needed to dilute the flow release. All the same I find the base mix pretty handy for the small scale work I do.

    – Peabody

    • muskie says:

      The Cool Grey one has worked for me a bit, the red one not so much. I also bought purple, I still like the old GW purple wash, that is what I stick to using. I’ll try red again, but it was a bit disappointing, it even seemed to dry a bit grey in parts…

  2. […] Posts Still EntrenchingI'm going to need more Popsicle sticks2 Down, 22 to GoLaying the LumberFinishing Up Old Models […]

Leave a Reply

