Painting 08 Pattern Webbing

Posted: July 15, 2010 in Rank and File, Servants of Decay, Van Doos Platoon, WIP
Tags: , , , , , ,

So three posts in one day, after five days of silence, what can I say other than I’m back baby!  Actually the last two postings could have been done as one, but I wasn’t sure I’d keep painting.  It is still hot in Vancouver and although it is almost midnight I really don’t have any reason to get up early now that the World Cup is over.

Continuing with my test model the next thing to paint on the Foundry Rifleman who will serve in the Van Doos eventually is the 08 Pattern Webbing.  This is famously canvas rather than leather which the first Canadians were shipped over to Europe issued with.  By 1916 all Canadian troops had 1908 pattern British webbing, my army is going to be circa mid 1916 so will have 08 Webbing, Lee-Enfields, and helmets. 08 Pattern Webbing Test Colours

For my first Foundry Triad test model I wasn’t satisfied with the Canvas colour (Triad #90), it tends towards green.  In the pictures and in the real example I’ve seen the canvas is yellow.  The other colour I ordered and tried was Drab as it was recommended somewhere, it is Triad #12 and has been ruled out for 08 Webbing.  While I’ve been painting terrain and other models I’ve tried out some GW and Vallejo colours.  For the Foundry Rifleman miniature I used Iyanden Darksun which if you can’t tell by the name is a GW Foundation paint.  I also tried Denab Stone on the Orlock.

Just the Foundry Rifleman modelThe secret though is the Gryphonne Sepia wash this is probably the most useful GW wash of the newest batch.  I use it to achieve a variety of effects, one thing I use it for is to “age” stuff, it also can darken and had a grittiness though if you use a lot of it the model will get a bit shiny.  What I should have done is possibly two basecoats of the Foundation paint then a Gryphonne Sepia wash, or Foundation base coat, wash, then Foundation again as the first highlights.  It all comes down to how much time you want to spend on your webbing.

What I did for the Foundry Rifleman test model was one coat of Iyanden Darksun, one layer of highlights of Vallejo Beige (Model Colour 917), and then a reasonable Gryphonne Sepia wash.  After that was dry I did some edge highlights of Vallejo Beige again.  I think I needed the two base coats of Denab stone and to delay using Beige and possibly GW’s Bleached Bone is a closer colour to use as a highlight, I gave the shirt and tabbard of the Orlock an extra wash and highlights with Bleached Bone, some people seem to paint their webbing more beige than yellow, we’ll see what the Lead Adventure Forum folks have to say, it looks yellow to me in prints, photos, and surviving examples.

It is 12:14 AM here Pacific Standard Time, timezones another Canadian invention, anyway it is also time for bed.  I’ll paint the weapons and the skin next as I’ve pretty much decided to give the Foundry Flesh Triad (#5) another go, possibly with a wash or an even lighter highlight from a GW flesh colour.  The Orlock as a test Servant of Decay will get a rather unnaturally unhealthy blue grey skin tone.

Hot weather isn’t good for painting, at least if you’re relatively poor and live in an old building…

Leave a Reply

