Painting Flesh and Weapons

Posted: July 15, 2010 in Rank and File, Servants of Decay, Van Doos Platoon, WIP
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

So I suppose this is the third post in a series on my ever under refinement method for painting WW1 Canadian Corps rifleman, particularly Van Doos…  Maybe I’ll make a proper tutorial when I got all the kinks out.  I’ve made tutorials as I go before, but I also know the value of test miniatures when you plan to do an army or even just a platoon which is the current plan for the Van Doos. Doing the metalics on the model

So to recap the metalics, paint the weapon Boltgun Metal.  When dry do a thin armour wash, I mixed my own but you can use Badab Black if you want.  Then do a wetbrush or a drybrush if you care less of Chain Mail once the wash is dry.  You can then call the metals good enough, and I made sure to take a picture at this stage.

The easy way to paint weaponsOr you can add a little character, for the Foundry Rifleman miniature I used Gryphonne Sepia wash in splotches to age and dirty his gun just a bit.  The Servant of Decay (the plastic GW Orlock) was to get a more elaborate rusting of his weapon using a series of DIY washes starting with thinned rust brown ink, adding in various pigments, Mecharius Solar Orange, Firey Orange, until I tired of it or I went too far.  The paints are all GW, the rust brown ink is an old and valued GW ink, and the pigments come from a variety of companies.  AwesomePaintJob.com rust triad of pigments is quite good though it can be tough to open their containers.  The pigments have served me better than the washes which have separated a lot on me in two out of three cases. Finished Metalics and Foundry Flesh Triad (#5)

For the normal human flesh I used Foundry Triad number 5 just for simplicity sake.  I did do things differently than the uniform, I applied the B or base colour to most of what I wanted flesh.  I left some black showing and I put on basically a coat and a half.  I think used the A or shade version and painted where shadows would fall, finally I painted the C or highlight member on the triad on fingers, knuckles, cheeks, noses, chins, etc.  This is pretty good, apparently historical painters often don’t do eyes.

I decided to take a picture and update the blog as I’ve never had the best of luck with flesh washes.  I have GW’s original flesh wash, something like four different pots of it.  It seperates too much and is too brown.  I have the new Ogryn Flesh wash and it is probably a little too brown for me, so I cook up my own using old GW inks, Rust Brown and Plasma Red.  At least that is what I’m going to try.

The rifleman is mostly done at this stage, the Servant of Decay is more work and has fallen a bit behind.  The helmet, water bottle, and ‘putties’ will be painted Foundry Triad Drab #12.  This is an alright colour and one I used for a variety of gear on the original test model, the Imperial Guardsmen in the photos.

After that I just have to do the boots and base.  I’ll also give the flesh probably a post wash highlight of Foundry Triad #5c and do the eyes white with either a black or blue iris/pupil.  The Servant of Decay will be more work, but might be finished by the end of tomorrow.  The rifleman I hope to finish everything except the base tonight, but maybe I’ll do the base too, what the hell.

There has been considerable discussion on the Lead Adventure forum on how a Canadian Expeditionary Force uniform should look, circa 1916, for a rifleman in the Royal 22e Regiment…

Leave a Reply

