Today I went to Strategies, wrote out a token Ork and Goblin 1500 point army list, and invest money I don’t really have into Warhammer 8th Edition.  I didn’t buy any minis but the big red book isn’t cheap.  I also am more and more sure I didn’t get the job where they planned to make a decision Thursday or Friday.  You never know I’ll politely inquire Monday afternoon if I don’t hear anything.

After spending too much time hanging around the local gaming store, I spent more time hanging around one of the many cafes on Main Street, then when I got home I read and flipped through the big red book some.  Eventually after a modest meal I took a break and promptly fell asleep on my bed.  I’ve been trying to get out and exercise a bit more and I think it hit me this evening. Freshly prepared miniatures

I had planned to do a little more work on my many miniature painting projects.  I actually laid out two plaguebearers and another Foundry WW1 rifleman before my impromptu nap.  When I got back up it seemed hotter than when I went to sleep.  I started cleaning the models and must not have been fully awake as I managed to slip while rotating my exacto knife and cut myself on the inside of my index finger.  I got a fresh reminder of the true colour of blood and after patching myself up I returned to the modeling table with more focus on the task at hand.

These three newly cleaned and prepared for painting models, will get some beach sand and some black primer before I go to bed and after exciting domestic chores tomorrow I’ll probably resume painting the three models behind them.  They are a test chaos daemon which I plan to paint a very dark purple, a second test Khorne bezerker, and a test Servant of Decay.  Hopefully I can crank them out pretty quickly as my painting queue seems to be getting longer instead of shorter.

I want to finish off my 2010 Vancouver Astronomi-con army promptly, but now I need to paint some lesser daemons of Nurgle too by the end of the month so I might do them before the three rank and file models I need to do for my Astro army.  That still leaves me the big three models for this years Astronomi-con.

WW1 Foundry Rifleman closeupIn other hobby news Zac’s blog network is up and at it.  He came up with some membership criteria which may be even stricter than From the Warp or the Bell of Lost Souls network.  I’m not sure how much traffic these blog networks generate, but the answer is some.  One of the reasons I set up a dedicated hobby blog was to apply for membership in probably all three of these networks.  I may need to wait five more months before I can apply to the Table Top Gaming News one.  Some people in the networks are selling something, miniatures, painting services, hobby products, even ad space, but most are just hobbyists.  I just want some of my ramblings to get read.  Plus if I go to all the trouble of preparing a tutorial I hope it is eventually of use to somebody.

Speaking of my one true tutorial so far on this blog, I sealed the WW1 Canadian Corps rifleman, it made his helmet shiny.  I used Purity Seal but I think a little too much may have landed on his lid.  Anyway it is just a test model, I also took some effort and used the bright haloegen lamp on my painting test to try and show that I did indeed paint the eyes of this 25mm figure.

Well that is all for tonight, look for more ramblings, and work in progress photos this weekend as I have no shortage of miniatures to paint.  I just hope it isn’t too hot in Vancouver.  I still have some terrain work to do on the trench table and will probably do some sort of rust painting tutorial in conjunction with it.

Terrain pieces on the side of my painting table

Leave a Reply

