Behold my Night Goblin Horde!

Posted: July 31, 2010 in Squad, Waaagh Musk, WIP
Tags: , , ,
Night Goblins in their movement tray

Night Goblins in their movement tray

That’s right, it only took about 15 years but I sacrificed my shoulder and back, to finish off this unit of 54 Night Goblin Archers led by a Shaman.  The last little bit of brown is drying, then I’ll take the celebratory picture.  I don’t think I’ve ever done anything that compares to these guys.  At 55 models, all of which have custom bases and decent highlights on the flesh, with the front two rows being quite spiffy, the magnetic movement tray, the four different types of basing, no five…

First I got guilted into getting help with the base coating of these guys.  I’m not sure how much time that really saved me as the quality was well below what I would have done.  Even the cleaning of the models often leaves a lot to desire.  I highlighted the best dozen or so and did up command and a hero, then they sat for a couple more years.  Now with the arrival of Warhammer 8th Edition and being presently unemployed I had no excuse other than just not having the commitment to getting them done.

Bases painted brown

Bases painted brown

All week it seems I’ve been working towards this blog post.  I built the custom 11 by 5 movement tray.  I magnetized all the bases.  I created an Autumnal basing scheme.  I discovered I was five Night Goblins short of 55, so in one day I painted the missing members of the squad.  Then I didn’t think the back 3/5ths were highlighted enough so that was added to the ‘ta do’ list.

Those needing more highlights

Those needing more highlights

Finally I did an epic basing scheme, which I may not completely duplicate on the other squads in this army.  First I found the perfect brown, or at least a decent brown.  Then after painting the bases,I used UHU glue to put ballast and a little bit of this weird red flock on all the bases.

When that was dry I then did lichen, three different Autumnal colours spread out amongst the unit.  When this was completed and dried it was time for the static grass.  I had little experience with this material but I had a good set of tweezers which helped.  I also learned that static grass absorbs super glue quite a lot and that you need to keep the tweezers about a centimetre from where the glue is, and even then sometimes the glue will flow up the grass cramping your style.

Improved highlights on rear ranks

Improved highlights on rear ranks

I experimented with different sized clumps, different heights, pushing down to make it messy, applying it on an angle.  Not all my experiments were a success but taking the unit as a whole, it looks pretty damn impressive, even with all the one pose 4th Edition Warhammer box set archers.

When the static grass was dry it was time for the little brown leaves I got off of Antenociti’s Workshop.  These were applied with white glue (Weldbond brand) as was the lichen.  These were given ample time to dry as I was summoned out to celebrate Jeff’s birthday.  Then at the end of the evening I had to touch up the Delta Ceramcoat Golden Brown.

Ready for the first set of basing materials

Ready for the first set of basing materials

If I had to do it all over, it probably wouldn’t get done.  I put a lot of effort into these goblins even spread over 55 models.  The basing is over the top and the magnetized movement tray is a total luxury too, especially considering how often I play Warhammer Fantasy Battle.  One thing that could be done is to mix up the basing material and apply the mix to save steps.  The other thing that should be done is multiple coats of Golden Brown before any other basing material is applied.

Now on to the pictures, I took a lot, one or two after every stage, plus the obligatory final money shot.

Finished with ballast and flock

Finished with ballast and flock

Ready to apply lichen

Ready to apply lichen

Unit with lichen added to the bases

Unit with lichen added to the bases

Special lockable tweezers

Special lockable tweezers

Static grass application techniques

Static grass application techniques

Unit with static grass applied to bases

Unit with static grass applied to bases

Unit with little brown leaves added to bases

Unit with little brown leaves added to bases

Night Goblin Archer Horde

Waaagh!!!

Comments
  1. […] Posts 2010 Astronomi-con Vancouver is Over!Behold my Night Goblin Horde!Five Freshly Painted Night GoblinsHow's this for a trench tableGlowing Green Paint […]

Leave a Reply

