I’m such an idiot sometimes

Posted: August 5, 2010 in Diseased Sons, Nefarious Fire, Stuff
Tags: , , , , , ,

Astronomi-con Vancouver is August 21st and 22nd.  Some how it had disappeared from iCal, but now it is back.  Since I switched back to iCal and my iPhone away from Entourage and my old job’s Blackberry it seems appointments I enter magically don’t appear and other oddness.  I’m in Horseshoe Bay going to Nanaimo and Vancouver Island for a cousin’s wedding so no painting for the week.  That leaves me about two weeks to paint 5 models, plus I might do a sixth special bonus model.  It doesn’t sound like much to some, considering I painted five Night Goblins in one day and I’m still unemployed…

However these aren’t Night Goblins, they are bigger, more elaborate, and I had planned to do a bang up job on them.  All of them are converted of kit-bashed.  Some of them use Forgeworld bitz and bobs.  They are not one pose plastic rank and file models.  Now I’ve gone and put the pressure on myself again, by leaving them so late.

The two weeks I busted my ass painting Warhammer Fantasy Battle models, or the weeks I spent doing test models for my post-Astronomi-con projects, or even the terrain tiles I jumped the gun and started making.  All that might come and bite me in the ass.  Last Astronomi-con I stayed up all night working on the paint jobs and bases for my Nefarious Fire models.  I never did finish 15 bases or the Chosen exactly.  All those models are done and more, but I need to do one new Chosen, one Plaguemarine Champion, and one Plagumarine with melta gun and my HQ.  Some of these models aren’t strictly necessary but hopefully will improve my painting score a smidgon.

Astronomi-con Vancouver attracts some good painters so it is a tough prize to win.  I think I’ve come a couple points away the last two years and if I really tried hard maybe I could win.  Alas this year doesn’t seem to be my year either.  Oh well next year the Servants of Decay will have to give it a go.

When I get back from Vancouver Island expect to see a return to my flurry of updates, hopefully painting all the rank and file models hasn’t sapped my fine motor skills too much.

I posted a picture of my army as is, here is a picture of most of the Chosen that didn’t get done last year, but are done now.  Flickr has gone and changed their UI, not sure if I like it, though you can do some fancy zooming or pseudo zooming…

Chosen Chaos Space Marine

Chosen Chaos Space Marine

Chosen Chaos Space Marine

Chosen Chaos Space Marine

Yes they all have comb-meltas. The photos are blurry because my camera was dying. I really should take some more photos of my minis. One day I’ll buy a good camera again.

Leave a Reply

