Glowing Green Paint Effect

Posted: August 12, 2010 in Character, Rank and File, Tutorial, WIP
Tags: , , , , , ,

So I’d always planned on doing the Bloodletter’s sword green and the armour of the sorcerer green, so I once again cooked up a one of kind or in this case a two of a kind colour that looks like it glows.  The key to the glowing effect is to go very bright/light with the highlights and start very dark with the lowlights.  Washes and glazes are also essential to my technique.  I’m not sure I can make it work with any colour but it works with green and blue, I generally use it on power weapons or magic weapons.  Purple can work too, but you have to highlight up to pink and that scares some people.

Bloodletter with Green Hellblade

Bloodletter with Green Hellblade

To get the effect seen here I had a black base coat.  I then painted Orkhide Shade over it.  The new GW Foundation darkest green.  Then I really needed an inbetween shade, but I didn’t have one so I mixed Orkhide Shade and Vallejo Game Colour Sick Green.  Then I think I did a pure Sick Green highlight, I can’t remember exactly it was yesterday.  To keep the colour dark and scary I mixed up a wash of about 5 parts water, 2 parts old GW Green Wash, and 1 part Black Ink.  Basically a much darker green wash, but still thinned so it would flow into the recesses.

After that dried I got out Sick Green again and starting working up the highlights.  I didn’t really have a good inbetween shade, so I mixed in an old GW Jade Green.  With the mixed colour and then pure Jade Green painted on as a highlight I then did a second wash.  This time a thinned down Waaagh Green Ink which is an extremely old GW/Citadel product.  When that was dry I started highlighting Jade Green again, but I also wanted to darken a few spots so I used the new GW Green Wash just in a few spots.

Sorcerer with green armour

Sorcerer with green armour

Then more Jade Green and the first green glaze.  GW used to make them, they were under appreciated by their clientele I wish I had them all, but I only have a few, they have red lids.  Vallejo makes some glazes, I saw them at Imperial Hobbies today.  After some Jade Green and green glaze I wanted to go more extreme so I got out this bottle of Green Grey Vallejo Model Colour #971.  I mixed this with the Jade Green on my P3 Wet Palette.  I then painted this pale highlight on.  Then another green glaze then an even paler extreme highlight was done and it was off to my bedroom to take the photos.

As I mentioned I went to Imperial Hobbies today and bought some more paint and a couple of brushes.  The brushes were disappointing but they were cheap.  Tomorrow I will go and buy some Deserres brushes that I’ve gotten used to, they hold their point pretty good and come in all sorts of sizes.  I also bought some very bright or light colours which I’ll use on the Tzeentch and Slaneesh models I seem to be doing up, but mainly they are for the future.  The Mr. Color Steel and the Flat Green will get used sooner, as might the Sky Grey.

The Gale Force 9 flock I bought the day before to use on the Goblins and other bases going forward.  I’m trying to use a variety of material, instead of just sand all the time.

More Hobby Supplies

More Hobby Supplies

Comments
  1. […] Posts 3 WIP Chaos ModelsCompleting a custom cork base2 Servants of KhorneGlowing Green Paint EffectReturn of the Slave […]

Leave a Reply

