There is no ‘F’ or ‘U’ in “hobby”

Posted: August 19, 2010 in Character, Conversion, Kit Bash, Nefarious Fire, WIP
Tags: , , , , , ,

There isn’t a ‘CK’ either…

So after a few days away from this blog, I’ve gotten some encouragement to resume posting, so I decided I would if for no other reason than to make sure some people, or at least silly internet handles, get the fame they apparently so desperately crave.  That said I think I’m scaling down my online forum participation.  I just don’t feel like going out of my way to help anonymous people online anymore.  I think I deserve to be more selfish after all these years.  Plus there is at least one more forum I’m never visiting again.

So this post is dedicated to all the wonderful people I’ve met online such as:

And of course the many people who have been added to Bell of Lost Souls or have decided that they should go there to be immature online.  Led of course by the self important hobby higher authority himself, TastyTaste.  Who apparently should have picked a better online handle, because I couldn’t find him on the front page of Google… Oh I almost forgot about the guy with the pink text who seems to be proud that he is an asshole online.  Alas his name and blog are so insignificant I can never remember what they are.  Not that I remember any of the names above, but luckily I’ve decided if they want to draw attention to themselves and they choose to do so by picking on people online, well they should pick on someone other than me.

I’ll make you famous!

Why do these people share the same hobby as me? They aren’t people I want to associate with in the real world and I’ll be damned if I’ll give them another 15 seconds of fame.  Onward to the minis I am currently painting for Astronomi-con Vancouver which is this Saturday and Sunday.  I have one day left to finish my HQ choices and do touch ups, pack, maybe re-read the rules seeing as I’ve been playing Warhammer Fantasy Battle recently.  Oh well it is not like I ever get to play test the armies I dream up.  Why start this year?

These models aren’t finished though while I was away from this blog I finished several models.  I’m not doing any step by step tutorials, maybe if you ask Ar_nihs he’ll tell you have to paint dark red or blue or black and type up a nice step by step tutorial on his blog.  Or you can go back in time and see how I did it on other recent models.  The reds and blues are basically done, but the blacks and brass need a lot of work still.

Astro Vancouver 2010 HQ

Astro Vancouver 2010 HQ

Astro Vancouver 2010 Side Photo

Astro Vancouver 2010 Side Photo

Updated March 2nd 2013

Why do people feel the need to be assholes online? They’ve never met me, but apparently they found my website, linked to it, appropriated some of the content, posted on some obscure forum, but couldn’t resist to the urge to say about something I’ve spent over a decade building “most of which is crap, BTW”.  They even put it in brackets as their opinion is totally superfluous to the actual content of thread. They just felt the need to insult someone online. So in honour of those people who continue to think this is acceptable behaviour online I’ve updated this blog post to immortalize Supaglue who’s real name may be Gilmore something or other, congratulations on being an asshole!

Who the fuck is Supaglue?

Comments
  1. sidneyroundwood says:

    Hi Muskie. I read your last couple of posts and wanted to wish you good luck from the UK for the Astronomi-Con this weekend! Like you, I just come here for the hobby, the figures, the terrain, the friendships. It’s a shame when someone on a forum posts something which is offensive or inconsiderate. I agree with you about forums being a place where those sorts of comments can linger in the memory, and on the internet, like a bad memory of an argument late at night. But hey Muskie, just remember all the friends you do have here, who wish you nothing but the best of health and good luck in the hobby and everything else you do. Keep posting, keep painting and, again, good luck and roll some sixes this weekened!!!

  2. […] The data in the red boxes to the left comes from one text file. The data on the lower right comes from another text file. The text file that controls the data on the left is going to be smaller and much more exclusive. There is no policy. I didn’t want to create yet another blog network, I just wanted a place to go to look at cool stuff. The most recent post appears at the top and one random feed is featured in the bottom box. I create a thumbnail from the first image in the post. This is perhaps the most intensive and problematic feature of my news aggregator. I’d prefer people just uploaded their finished miniatures to Flickr or a distant second Dakka Dakka. Cool Mini Or Not has no feeds for their gallery and has become more and more of an online store, although there are a lot of nice minis their site doesn’t appeal that much to me. I’m interested in knowing how something was done. Ditto Bell of Lost Souls which has too many writers and just a way too busy site design now. I just want to look at the minis not fight with their web design or told to go fuck myself. […]

  3. […] One of my hobbies which I sometimes don’t have time for in real life, but is also a large component of my online efforts is miniature painting. I was re-introduced to painting miniatures in high school and as I started to use the Internet and the world wide web shortly thereafter it has always been something I’ve followed online. Although I don’t always have the time and energy to paint miniatures, I and others have often expended great time and effort discussing the hobby online. Miniatures can be used in tabletop games, but not everyone in the hobby is a hardcore gamer. I personally think the collecting gene is stronger in me than the gaming gene. Plus as I’ve gotten older I’ve become less competitive, it often brings out the worst in people, especially online. […]

Leave a Reply

