More tools of the trade

Posted: September 4, 2010 in Diseased Sons, Stuff, Terrain, Waaagh Musk
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Today I haven’t painted a single brush stroke.  I’ve been so unproductive and lazy I forced myself at around 4:30pm to bike down to Grand Prix hobbies to buy some styrene.  I’ve been hanging out more on the Waaagh and I want to get my Looted Wagons armed correctly and fully painted for this edition of Warhammer 40,000.  I also plan to do at least two Battlewagons which will be converted and kitbashed but first I need a new job.

I actually have a job interview Tuesday afternoon.  However I have my doubts about the position and the job offer.  The company is a startup and although I’m totally willing to work for a startup, I don’t know what they actually do or how they plan to make money, besides the ever trendy “social media“.  Seems to me that the social media field is a lot more crowded than it was three or better still four or five years ago.  I know as I’ve been blogging for a long time.  Anyway we’ll see what the CEO has to say.

Styrene tubes and more

Styrene tubes and more

I ended up buying more than a few tubes of styrene.  I forgot how much styrene and Woodland Scenics stuff they carry.  I think they get some model train people, scale modelers, and maybe even a few architects or students at least.  Imperial Hobbies has a lot of stuff too, but I always think that is farther to go.  Grand Prix is a decent bike ride, but you can still bike there and back in under an hour I imagine.  I usually stop somewhere else on the way back…

I couldn’t pass up the battlefield styrene. I’ll probably cut one of them up.  The tubes will also serve as pipes and what not, but some may get turned into gun barrels.  I wanna order some more paint and of course Forgeworld goodies, but first I have to paint some Diseased Sons, then assemble and paint some more Chaos Space Marines, then two Forgeworld models…  Then maybe I won’t feel guilty buying some small Forgeworld stuff.

Plus I’m going to get back to making terrain tiles every couple of weeks.  I have to assemble another  paint rack.  All these plans don’t leave a lot of time for Warhammer Fantasy Battle.  If I want to play that game, the Daemons are ready to go, but they always lose, so I’ll have to finish off another goblin unit.  I plan to paint some Slaneesh daemons gradually, possibly over a grey basecoat which I’ll continue to experiment with.  Painting even a dozen Slaneesh daemons seems easier and funner than 25 Ork Boyz or even 66 goblin shields…

New Painting Queue

New Painting Queue

Waaagh Musk 40K, requires lots of touch ups, and re-armings.  Last night I did further revisions to the army list, I added and removed some vehicle upgrades, and I think one of my dreads will get a weapon swap, and I might as well give the Blood Axe nob a powerfist too…  It might sound like a lot but there isn’t very many Orks in Waaagh Musk at 1500 points.  I do have to do up five large vehicles, which I usually hate to do, but Ork vehicles can be made a lot funner and less work through heavy drybrushing and crazy weathering techniques.

Stay tuned, I might paint something late at night.  Last night while I couldn’t sleep I tried out the Vallejo paint on gloss varnish, it worked great on the Bloodletter’s horns.  If not tomorrow I will begin work on the last Purple Plaguemarines/Nurgle renegades I will ever paint, I mean it this time.

Leave a Reply

