Immortal Brush Year Four

Posted: October 1, 2010 in Character, Diseased Sons, Nefarious Fire
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The Immortal Brush is a local painting competition in Vancouver put on by Darren at Strategies.  I actually remembered to drop off some entries this year.  I don’t usually paint for competitions and I didn’t paint anything special this year, I just entered two categories using models from my Chaos 40K army or armies.  My chaos army has gotten so large it is probably better to think o f as three armies.

Into the fantasy squad category I entered five fairly recently painted plaguebearers.  Most of those models have likely been featured on this blog.

Horde of 40 Nugle Plaguebearers

My more impressive entry is “The Council of Chaos”.  You have to enter five models on 40mm bases or smaller in the sci-fi category.  It doesn’t have to be a legal squad so I cherry picked some models from my collection.  I chose models that have never been entered into a painting contest, certainly not Darren’s.  I also then chose one representative of each chaos power and one worshiper of chaos undivided.

The models I chose were mostly character models, models that have lead my armies in various tournaments.  I wanted to use Da Kanopena, as it was my newest spiffy model, even though some people like his little buddy better.

Da Kan Opena

To represent Slaneesh I naturally opted for the Phantom of the Rock Opera.

The Phantom of the Rock Opera

To represent Tzeentch I went with my renegade with lascannon conversion. Which I can’t seem to find a picture of online…

To represent Nurgle I settled on Malefactor the Marred, at least I think that is the model’s name.  He’s on a 40mm base, the same one as the Phantom of the Rock Opera and was painted around the same time.  He was actually used in some games, unlike the Phantom.

Nurgle Lord with a Kai Gun

Finally for my undivided model I chose my Chosen with Autocannon or Renegade with Autocannon conversion, the one everyone likes.  I was worried it was on too big of base, but Darren has no problem with it.

DIY Havocs

These five are all visually cool looking and they fit together due to the purple and black motif.  I think the Nurgle guy is well painted but the Phantom and the Khorne guy got the initial glory from people in the store.

I want to try and swing by tomorrow around 4pm to see who wins and to see the other entries.  I also want to check out some of the free concerts and other stuff happening in Vancouver as part of Main Street Drift.

Special shout out to Marlene Lau, lead guitarist of Kill Matilda who was instrumental in ensuring some of these models exist.  Now back to coding PHP…

Comments
  1. […] is Main Street Drift so I plan to check that out. I’m also entered in the Immortal Brush miniature painting competition unlike last year… So I don’t know when I’ll work on this project next. I still […]

Leave a Reply

