Painted bones and cables

Posted: January 27, 2011 in Diseased Sons, Rank and File, WIP
Tags: , , , ,

After finishing the armour and the trim as well as the other metallics on the guns and backpacks, I move on to painting the cables and all the skull and bone motifs found on Chaos Space Marines.  That is my standard method that I’ve stuck to for years.  On the Diseased Sons and most models really I use the same basic recipes.

For bone I like to base coat with Snakebite Leather.  Then I paint on in kinda a wetbrush Bleached Bone.  Next comes a wash of a thinned down Rust Brown Ink with a little Plasma Red Ink added to the mix.  After that dries I add a lighter color, often as a drybrush.  This time I used both Vallejo Beige and Skull White.

The cabling is green.  I start with a really dark green, this time an old pot of Dark Angels Green.  Then I use a couple medium greens and then a wash.  I used GW’s new green wash to save time.  Then for the lascannon coils I painted on another highlight of a lighter green, Scorpion Green.

Then I called it a night and watch a movie. WIP Nurgle Havocs

Next I plan to paint two different sickly fleshes.  I use pale blue flesh for my Plaguemarines and followers of Nurgle.  I use a more traditional rotting green flesh for daemons and in this case the various skulls hanging as trophies from these models.  That’s a pretty modest goal for today’s painting but, I have to deal with some other things such as finding a job.

I use techniques for painting flesh similar to those detailed by Ron at FTW.  I plan to try out Dhenab Stone as a base, though I’m traditionally a light grey or a pale green guy.

Leave a Reply

