Painting Naked Chicks

Posted: February 25, 2011 in Squad, WIP
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Once you start painting naked chicks you’re a true “artiste“.

So I decided to enter the Lead Painter League, season five.  One of the hardest to win Internet painting competitions.  I’m not even sure there is a prize.  Just bragging rights is enough.  So anyway the powers that be over at Lead Adventure made one of the bonus rounds, “non-combantants”.  In fact Week One is non-combatants.  I wasn’t sure what I was going to do.  Despite my collection of unpainted figs, they are all ostensibly for one army or another.

Plastic Bags filled with Lead

Plastic Bags filled with Lead

Then I remembered some guy from the 40K mailing list through in with a trade some naked chicks.  What is more non-combative than naked chicks?

So I dig through my little baggies of lead for the one with the bonus figures.  Whoever it was through in a bunch of small scale models.  Scale doesn’t matter in the Lead Painter League so the smaller the better, these models were certainly smaller than the usual models I paint.  I’m not sure the scale, 20mm maybe, maybe 25mm.  I’m also making no comment on the anatomically correctness of the naked chicks.

Bonus figs thrown into trade

Bonus figs thrown into trade

After lining up the contents it appears there are some torturers and even some secumbuses  and amazons, but also a bunch of chained naked chicks.  This post is going to do wonders for my keyword referrals. I picked a team of five naked chicks in chains and after briefly considering basing them on square bases, went back to round.

My basing techniques and my resin base collections are all based on battlefields or at least sci-fi or fantasy settings.  This harem of naked chicks isn’t going to be standing in a burnt out building or an open field so I had to dig out my old green stuff and sculpt a token cobblestone base.  My greenstuff is so old and hard to work with, time to buy some more.

Miniature Naked Chicks

Miniature Naked Chicks

I think I got these models in 1996, sure enough on the bottoms of the bases is the words “Dennis Mize 95 Ral Partha”.  So I’m saying these figs were sculpted or at least caste in 1995 by Ral Partha.  I’m sure the diehards over at the Lead Adventure Forum will know more about them.

Round or Square base?

Round or Square base?

The Green Stuff is curing now and I’m enjoying a beer.  I may get around to assembling another week’s entry.  This time some space ships form the Silent Death range.  They too are small and hopefully easy to paint.  We’ll see if I have any flesh painting skills…

Due to the rules of the contest I can’t show any WIP or finished pictures until after they are used in the contest.  I think the contest runs ten weeks starting in March.  I’m not sure I’ll even try to paint ten teams, but for the next couple months I’ll try to paint models in groups of five.

Five Naked Chicks

Five Naked Chicks

Green Stuff Bases

Green Stuff Bases

Leave a Reply

