WIP OOP Khorne Bezerkers

Posted: April 8, 2011 in Nefarious Fire, Rank and File, WIP
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

These fellows were supposed to be my third entry into the Lead Painters League, as you can see they are not done. My life isn’t as easy as some would have you believe. I’m no peasant farmer in Cambodia, but I have been unemployed entirely too long the last five or so years, ever since my Sauder MBA not in-coincidently.

I’ve had other things on my mind, but mainly I’ve just been lazy, or at least unfocused on finishing these models. I’ll get in a couple hours one day then a week could go by before I paint again. This week I painted on Monday inspired by Trumpeter Salute I guess. But then reality set back in. None of my problems have been solved, despite having a job interview this week. I’ve been disappointed far too many times to count any chickens at this stage.

WIP Khorne Bezerkers

WIP Khorne Bezerkers

Well enough about me, this is what I’ve done on these models. I primed them black, with GW Spray Primer and likely a lot of Chaos Black touchups. Then I did the main metallic parts, the silver is Boltgun Metal + Chainmail + Silver + a couple washes. My brushes were in a sad state for awhile. I got two new ones, but I’m over due to try and rescue some old brushes or just need to do less jabbing in crevices I guess…

The trim is currently just Tin Bitz. It will look more like brass once I finish the power armor.

The black parts of the armor are completely done. I used the Foundry Black Triad plus a little bit of Badaab Black wash and a final spot highlight of Astronomicon Grey which may be a bit too bright, I might have to shop around for another grey someday… I paint black power armor pretty good, red is more work.

I was using the P3 Wet Palette and once again it was probably too wet so I need too coats of Clotted Red. I also used Go Faster Red and of course Ruby Red along with some custom dark red washes made from old Citadel Inks. I need a bit more blending, with maybe one or two highlights of Ruby Red and a red glaze and the power armor will be done.

I hope to fix up the metallic bits too tonight, but the models will not be finished by tomorrow morning. I plan to do the green tubing and many skulls after the metallics are done, that still leaves the skin, the leather pouches and various small details, plus some elaborate resin bases. I’ll be glad when I can go back to painting simpler models than these guys. I’m trying to do a good job, as I always try to do a good job, but I think choosing your models and paint schemes can save a lot of time.

Hopefully I get a job soon, as I don’t know what will happen if I don’t…

Leave a Reply

