Almost Finished Plaguebearers

So since my sleep schedule is totally screwed up due to loud neighbours and being unemployed, I put quite a lot of work into these Nurgle daemons today, probably should have gone to the gym or something. Tomorrow I will go to the gym and of course look for a job. I also will likely finish these three plaguebearers tomorrow which when varnished will give me 40 painted, enough for my full rank bonus horde for the Warhammer 8th Edition Mighty Empires Campaign at Strategies starting Sunday.

Highlighted Knarloc Green Skin
Highlighted Knarloc Green Skin

The first thing I did after taking water out of my wet palette was finish the Knarloc Green Plaguebearer and his little Nurgling buddy. I used GW’s Knarloc Green, and three Vallejo greens: Sick, Goblin, and Green Grey. I blended the paint on the wet palette and highlighted. I had a problem with Sick being too much of a step but with some blending and fighting the constant tendency of the model to go ‘minty’ I eventually put enough little dibs and dabs so that he looked like someone whom extra time had been taken painting. I also used a little tiny bit of Gryphonne Sepia wash at the very end to blend it to dark again.

With that complete I decided to do the bones next. I decided on the bones that if some red gets on the bones it is OK, but if some bone gets on the guts you have to repaint it. There are a couple of exposed bones on one plaguebearer and of course the one big horn on each model. I change it up now and again, but basically I paint bones Snakebite Leather. Bleached Bone or Vallejo Beige doesn’t cover black that great unless you gob it on, and you don’t want to do that. So after painting the bones and skulls and horns Snakebite Leather I reached for the Vallejo Beige and put some of that on the wet palette.  I also got some GW Scorched Brown out too. I used the dark brown to darken and to add little stripes or striations to the horns. Then I put a very thin amount of beige on the horns.

Painting bone colour
Painting bone colour

Next I got out my newly discovered Reaper Master Series Clotted Red. This was added to the wet palette. I’d started a new piece of parchment and with considerably less water in the container, basically just a damp sponge. I had all types of problems in Vancouver’s heat with the parchment drying out. I still have a long way to go until I get the wet palette just right. Anyway I put a fairly think layer of Clotted Red on all the things I wanted red. Then I mixed up a bone wash, this is a fairly standard recipe for me of water and old GW Rust Brown Ink. Some times I add a dab of red ink into the mix. I paint this pretty much all over the bone color, though obviously you can leave some of the bone unwashed.

When that was all dry I painted more Vallejo Beige onto the bones in something of a drybrush but not totally, kinda half and half. I did drybrush white onto the bones, but I also painted white on the tips and in thin lines. I don’t like to drybrush but one thing that looks good if you’re careful is drybrushing bones, horns, and skulls. Sometimes I don’t use white on my bones at all, this time since I’d invested so much time in the models I did.

Beginning Guts and Gore
Beginning Guts and Gore

Next I got out my new pot of GW Blood Red and painted it on the ‘guts’ as a highlight. I’d used Beige and White to get reasonably exposed bones going. Then I mixed up another custom wash, this one is two drops of water, two brushes of old GW Shadow Black Ink and two brushes worth of old GW Plasma Red Ink. These like the Rust Brown Ink are in round pots with Citadel logos and black lids.

This takes a bit of time to dry so I likely took a break or touched up things. Eventually I touched up some of the unpainted bits black and painted one eyeball white. I fixed up the skull on the medallion with a little black ink at some point. I had to touch up the green skin too as it rubbed off in one or two raised points. They’re looking pretty good and my hands are sweating from typing all this out on my MacBook Pro. Tomorrow they should get finished, I’ve dubbed them: Fleshy, Drabby, and Knarly.

3 Mostly painted Plaguebearers
3 Mostly painted Plaguebearers

Author: Muskie

Making the Internet better since 1995.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.