Not dead, still painting Nurgle

January is the busiest month of the year at work. We are still trying to fix everything and complete all our obligations but I try to make a little time on Sundays to paint…

January is the busiest month of the year at work. We are still trying to fix everything and complete all our obligations but I try to make a little time on Sundays to paint and yes I have been taking pictures of the two models I am currently working on. They are two old Forge World Nurgle terminators which I of course will run as Blightlords at least initially.

You might remember the Fabulous Mister Toad, he has gotten two coast of gloss varnish plus a little Blood for the Blood God. He still hasn’t gotten on the table but he was in the last army list I wrote out which I will have to redo after the January Balance Slate. Perhaps next weekend Bill and I can resume our rivalry.

Forge World Nurgle Terminators

These models have been converted and primed for many years, going back to my time in East Vancouver before yet another stint of unemployment and of course working in China for four years. I don’t really need more Nurgle Terminators at least not those with what GW is calling combi-weapons. These models have a combi-flamer and a combi-melta and I wish both were still options. The other conversion was to use two bits one of which is definitely Black Templar one to make an Icon.

Somewhat Random Green Paints

When I painted the last one I used green paints I owned at the time. This would have been around Week 7 of our narrative campaign during 9th Edition. Since then I’ve bought more paint but I’ve also thrown more paint away. The original Diseased Sons painting scheme involved drybrushing and used what I now suspect was a slightly off pot of Ghoul Grey. It also of course used Ork Flesh and Waaagh Green Ink. More recently but still in the previous millennium it may have used Dark Angels Green and I definitely regularly use the red lid pot of green glaze.

Blightlord Terminator

I did buy a paint mixer, but some pots just have separated too much or never were mixed well. The new miniatures paints are supposedly so much better than those from twenty or more years ago. I also switched from Smelly Primer to Chaos Black primer so I don’t need to start with such a dark green in my experience. I always use at least one wash so generally I go darker then brighter then darker then lighter until I finally say “enough” which you’d know if you followed my painting vow last year.

My midtone green has changed the most as I keep trying out different paints. The final highlight remains a hexagon era pot of Striking Scorpion Green. Sometimes I use multiple midtones, but my dream is to have a triad plus a wash and maybe a glaze. More than five coats of paint I of course do, but I really got to break that habit on rank and file models. My pot of Bilious Green died so if I want to go really bright green, I may now use a non-Citadel colour. However I remain somewhat subconscious of going too bright as my style has been called cartoony.

On this batch I also tried two new metallic paints, likely some recommend by Vinny V, a Vallejo Airbrush Colors one and a Signature Pro Acryl Dark Bronze I had high hopes for. That paint really needed a lot of mixing, it was the least well mixed Pro Acryl pot I’ve tried. I find you still want a highlight on your metallics and a wash so I’ll hopefully get back to painting soon, but you can see where I left the models this afternoon below.

I also did the traditional random brown drybrush of my beach sand. I went with a very new Citadel base color, then a poorly mixed pot of Vallejo Model Color followed by two Foundry Triad colors so my dirt is partly British Uniform Brown for those who remember my brief foray into historically accurate miniature painting.

New Chaos Space Marine Codex

I’m not sure when it will come out, in the past I read all the rumours and of course I bought the last CSM Codex but I never used it. In 10th Edition the Chaos Space Marine Codex comes out way before the Death Guard Codex. I was never really a Death Guard player, that codex came out while I was out of the hobby. I started the Diseased Sons at the dawn of second edition so they were definitely a homebrew Chapter of Nurgle Renegades.

Over the years I expanded into non-Nurgle models even models worshipping the other Chaos Powers. So in order to use more of my painted miniature collection I’ll probably benefit from switching to using the Chaos Space Marine Codex as my main book. I think that was the ultimate plan for 9th edition. I can still run some Death Guard, some Daemons and even a Chaos Knight. I can still hopefully do a pure Nurgle army, but I could also field some models that haven’t seen a gaming table in a decade or more, if ever.

Chaos Space Marines

I want to wrap this post up, but if you have thoughts on painting green, brown, or metallics or the proper way to play Death Guard or Chaos Space Marines or even if you just have some random speculation about the codex you can leave a comment below. I’m tempted to make my army a lot different, lots of bikers or raptors or havocs or even all three? I have plenty of bog standard bolter guys.

Author: Muskie

Making the Internet better since 1995.

3 thoughts on “Not dead, still painting Nurgle”

  1. I got the Nurgle ones. If I had more money back in the day or was willing to pay, I’d have gotten the Khorne ones too, or another set of plague marine torsos. I think I may have one or two non-Terminator ones left. I plan to use them to convert Nurgle bikers or raptors. The Khorne ones were also nice, but I just paint so slow and rarely use all the miniatures I have now. I have too many plague marines and I’ve fielded my bezerkers once and let some kid run them. The old metal plague marine havocs were another great box I wish I’d bought two of, but honestly my units have plenty of variety and the new models are bigger and probably have too much detail. Thanks for commenting. I’ll probably paint some newer sculpts next, these models are available second hand online but I got mine back in the day when money was tighter, or course it seems to be tight again.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.