Painting a Plague Toad

It is actually almost finished. I have a bad habit of applying one more highlight then one more wash then of course one more highlight…

It is actually almost finished. I have a bad habit of applying one more highlight then one more wash then of course one more highlight. The only thing I might highlight more is the lone eyeball. I really want to it to pop.

If you tuned in last week or follow me on Instagram you would have seen earlier work-in-progress pics of this model. It is a Plague Toad of Nurgle made by Forge World but I plan to field it as a Chaos Spawn, as you must run them in units of two in the current rules for Warhammer 40,000. This model who I’ve dubbed the Fabulous Mister Toad will accompany Maceo the Mutated for all eternity or at least until they update the rules again.

This WIP shot was posted to Instagram

I tested out some Monument Hobbies Pro Acryl paints on this model. And I know people complain about the pots, I don’t mind them that much, but one of the advantages of the flip tops if you just need a little dab of paint, you can get just one brush full from a traditional Citadel style pot. With Vallejo or Pro Acryl I tend to put more paint than I need on my palette. Maybe if I switch back to a wet palette this would be less an issue but I paint random colours and use a lot of washes so I like my hard plastic palette with little spots for washes.

The secret weapon to this colour scheme and it literally was manufactured by Secret Weapon which may be no more is Baby Poop. This was a formula developed by Les Burley. It is more viscous than some washes you may be used using but doesn’t separate as much as his AwesomePaintJob dot com ones. The closest thing to it in GW’s range is probably Mortarion Grime but Baby Poop is more yellow brown and Mortarion Grime is more greenish. I did use Mortarion Grime on the pustules and bone on the Plague Toad.

I liked the pustules better when they were a darker English Uniform Brown, but I highlighted up and even used a yellow, but then I toned that down with the aforementioned Mortarion Grime. The first time I used Baby Poop I put it on really thick as you can see in the banner but I did a second coat thinned with water. For Mortarion Grime I tend to paint straight from the pot.

Besides Pro Acryl and Vallejo and Citadel I used paints by Wargames Foundry and Reaper and maybe some others. I didn’t use a lot of technical paints but I plan to put varnish on this model then I may put some Blood for the Blood God on bits particularly the tongue.

Plague Toad of Nurgle
The Fabulous Mister Toad

I took even more WIP pictures. I think I shared them to Bill‘s Discord server, no one said anything. I assume I will play him again soon in Warhammer 40,000 as he always likes to kill the freshest Chaos Spawn. We’ll see how my spray sealant likes the below zero weather we have in Calgary. Worst case scenario I go seal it in one of the two parking spots I own.

If you have thoughts on paint, painting, Nurgle, Forge World models or how Fabulous Mister Toad looks you can leave a comment below.

Author: Muskie

Making the Internet better since 1995.

3 thoughts on “Painting a Plague Toad”

    1. Thanks. I thought it came out pretty good. I thought about going all Hypno Toad, but then I decided to go realistic or at least more realistic and use some of the paints that I’d either just got or hadn’t used much. I’ve definitely got used to putting unifying washes on certain colours.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.