Big Plans in 2022?

As this year comes to a close, I find myself in a familiar spot, at my mother’s kitchen table editing old blog posts. My paints and minis are back at my place in Calgary and I’m not sure how much I’ll accomplish but I’ve definitely made miniature painting plans for 2022.

I’m not sure how much gaming I’ll get in. We are in the middle of a big project at work and we were basically forced to take time off for the holidays as few vacation requests will be approved in Q1. But the biggest detriment to Bill and I’s gaming plans is the resurgence of Covid-19. Several Canadian cities and provinces have been setting new records for most new cases in a day as we are in the midst of the fourth wave of the pandemic.

Yoast will assure me that content maintenance is not a waste of time, but I fear too many years have passed, whatever readership and popularity I had online is long gone. There are of course reasons why I went something like five years without posting to this particular blog, but it wasn’t because I completely gave up blogging, though I probably should have.

My original blog, the one known as “Muskblog” may be the most popular thing I maintain online now, but it wasn’t always so. The original home of my gaming and miniature painting efforts used to be much more popular, then there was the years I spent studying, the blog of study materials I gave away used to be hugely popular, but in 2021 I’ve ran most of my web properties into the ground through neglect and focusing on other things than my follower count.

Now everyone uses social media and actually sitting down and typing let alone organizing your thoughts first is so passé, why not just speak into your phone whatever rambling diatribe comes to mind and stream it live while you storm the US Capitol building? I doubt I’ll start a vlog or a podcast, but in 2022 I’m going to get back to painting regularly and will post quick work-in-progress photos to Instagram.

I also plan to use the light box I bought and my camera to photograph old models better. I’ll probably take part in #ThrowbackThursday but I’ll also upload higher resolution photos to Flickr maybe even build something new and cool, it all depends on how much of a drain work is. I don’t want to spend my entire life in one little room, I plan to resume going to the gym when Covid allows.

While doing my content maintenance I wrote out a list of ten hobby priorities for 2022 which I can repeat below:

  1. Paint more Plague Marines
  2. Paint a Necromunda Gang
  3. Rebase Old Models for New Rules
  4. Paint Chaos Cultists
  5. Paint Night Goblins aka Gloomspite Gitz
  6. Employ simple but effective miniature painting techniques
  7. Paint Chaos Spawn
  8. Paint More Nurglings
  9. Paint Non-Nurgle Chaos Space Marines
  10. Paint some Orks or Orcs or however GW spells it

Loyal readers of this website will note I’ve already done most of this. I’ve never painted an official Chaos Spawn model, but I have painted several Beasts of Nurgle and sometimes the rules for those are interchangeable. Number ten will be a real stretch, but I might try and paint some orks for Kill Team since I own an Ork Kill Team.

Now I should probably carefully choose ten links where you can see my previous work:

Yoast’s article also prompted me to look at Google’s search console for the first time in a long time. I can’t use that tool on this blog, but my main blog ranks well for obscure iTunes error messages. The website devoted to the Diseased Sons actually ranks worse than Muskblog, but it ranks for better terms such as:

  • nurgle
  • old plague marines
  • plague marines paint scheme
  • nurgle marines
  • plague marine conversion
  • nurgle chaos space marines
  • painting plague marines
  • nurgle space marine
  • nurgle chaos marines
  • plague marine conversions

As you can see some people use the plural in their search and some people don’t. So as an early Christmas present to all fans of Nurgle, I’ll dig up five more links to old content, because I’ve definitely painted all the old plague marines.

  1. Gallery of old OOP Plague Marine Miniatures
  2. Before and After pictures of old OOP Chaos Renegades I stripped and repainted
  3. Step by Step journey to paint a Forgeworld Death Guard Dreadnought
  4. Gallery of a Nurgle Plague Marine Army I took to a Grand Tournament
  5. Step by Step journey to paint an OOP Nurgle Renegade with Heavy Weapon

Those links have a lot of old out-of-print Nurgle Chaos Space Marine miniatures along with a lot of old paint colour choices but hopefully some techniques or inspiration people can use today or at least a little escapism from Christmas and Covid. Stay safe and if you have big hobby plans for the new year you can leave them below the army shot. Embedding from Flickr is easier on my other blog…

Diseased Sons Army
Diseased Sons Army Circa April 14th 2003

Author: Muskie

Making the Internet better since 1995.

14 thoughts on “Big Plans in 2022?”

    1. Thanks it was taken a long time ago. Since then I’ve painted another dreadnought, but also a bunch more plague marines, plaguebearers, Nurglings and even some cultists. I’ve also painted undivided and non-Nurgle models. In 2022 I’m going to concentrate on taking better pictures of individual models, but at some point I’ll have to get all the models out of the their cases and set them up for one big photo again.

  1. Great to se you posting regularly again Muskie. I like reading your insights and getting updates o your projects.

    1. I’m not painting regularly again yet, I’m still at my mom’s. We’ll see if my motivation remains after I’m back to work. But Bill and I talked of playing a bunch of games but then more Covid restrictions. So I’ll paint more models for those games so I’m ready when the restrictions are reduced. I just want to paint 10, 20, 30 if I can get 40 models done in 2022 that would be way above my usual average. I didn’t put any big models on the list, there are a lot of demon engines in the new Death Guard and I never painted any of the Chaos Space Marine demon engines either. I even still have some unpainted Forgeworld models, so bigger centrepiece models will have to wait until 2023, the biggest thing I may take on is an HQ or Elite character model.

    1. I haven’t found any plain Jane Plague Marines locally. Every time I go to the FLGS there are none. So I may start with cultists or even more likely goblins. I have some OOP Plague Marines and I have the Space Marine Heroes. I’ve been keeping my eye out for some barely used ones too but Christmas has been expensive so I may not buy any models for a couple months. But I hope to get painting soon. I got a new place, but in hindsight maybe I should have gotten an even bigger place.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.