Bell of Lost Souls signal to noise ratio

Posted: July 23, 2010 in Op Ed
Tags: , , , , ,

Bell of Lost Souls isn’t that old of a website.  There are a lot older hobby websites online, but it’s rise to prominance has been pretty rapid.  It started out being about Warhammer 40,000 then they added other games such as Warhammer Fantasy Battle, Privateer Press’s Warhmachine/Hordes, Flames of War…   They’ve also tried to grow from a blog into I don’t know what, they added yet another online hobby forum, a blog network, who knows what else.  They’ve also added to the number of writers, even recently putting out a call for more writers…

I don’t know how many writers they have but re-syndicating content isn’t what I want.  There are some people’s blogs I just don’t want to read.  I disagree with their oppinion, point of view, tactics, humanity, or whatever.  I just stay away from certain blogs, forums, topics…  Take the whole recent Germany versus America blowup they had on BoLS.  I think the people running the website are making some poor decisions.  Maybe they need page views to pay for bandwidth or something.  They certainly have enough ads on the webpage now.  These don’t bother me too much as I use an RSS Reader and lots of people run adblocking software nowadays.

I actually support specialty hobby companies and give them free links and press myself, but it is just a hobby, trying to make a living from Warhammer 40K or miniature painting isn’t always the wisest course of action, but what do I know I’m unemployed right now and I got a couple of them there university degrees.

Maybe Bell of Lost Souls has gotten too big for their britches as my grandmother would say or too big for their own good.  The comments section is going to need more and more policing, but so is their editorial policy, between starting the big Germany VS America mudfest to letting TastyTaste inflict himself on me again.  Sarcasm should be left to professionals.  If you want to write about miniature painting or the hobby at least write something positive.  That is what I try to do these days, stay out of the flamewars, I’m too old for that crap.  I just ignore people until they go away, but now he’s got some backdoor into my computer thanks to BoLS.

We’ll see if things improve, if not I’ll find other sources for my hobby news, Table Top Gaming News covers everything BoLS does and more, but with less focus on original articles and more focus on news.  I don’t play Warmachine or Flames of War I barely play 40K.  When I’m employed my free time is valuable.  I don’t want to waste it reading crap online, I do too much of that.  I subscribe to certain RSS feeds as I think the content is of merit.  I link to them because I think they provide useful information.  Some sites and authors just get annoying really fast and I leave them for other people to engage.  If Bell of Lost Souls slides much further I’ll just contribute to some other site more.  This blog has only been up about a month and it is starting to get some traffic from Google, but mainly it gets traffic from forums and mailing lists I post links on.  I’m pretty organic in my traffic building techniques, but I’ll have to join one or two of these new fangled blog networks, though maybe not the BoLS one…

Quality control matters, I hope not to ever let this blog slide too far towards BloodOfKittensWho names a site that anyway? I don’t plan to do many of these Op Ed pieces but I did create the category and I know I’m not the only one who has had enough of Mr. TastyTaste online.

Comments
  1. […] of course the many people who have been added to Bell of Lost Souls or have decided that they should go there to be immature online.  Lead of course by the self […]

Leave a Reply

