Four Foul Death Guard Chaos Cultists

That is correct, the Seige of Vanithros’s Bastion has been delayed again…

That is correct, the Seige of Vanithros’s Bastion has been delayed again. But I’m no slacker, I put way too much effort into four Chaos Cultist models. In fact I’ll probably do some touch ups in the morning as I always miss some bits.

These models were primed black. Then I used my black recipe, the one I’ve used on many goblin robes and Nefarious Fire Chaos Space Marines. I may have went with even more layers of grey than usual, I think I did seven and I remember sweating profusely while doing it.

The purple robes are also done just like I did the Nefarious Fire except I think I used an undercoat from an old pot of Foundation Paint, Hormagaunt Purple. I definitely did a wash, but I don’t think I did any glazes. The purple robes got less layers of paint except for the Champion, the Legendary Cancerous the Extremely Naughty, his purple robes may have gotten extra work.

New Paint!

I got two shipments of paint while painting these models and in both shipments off the Internet I got some pots that weren’t usable. Someone suggested I work more to try and save them, but life is short. This is why I like to shake my pots in the store, but some paint ranges are just not carried at the FLGS and people are always hyping them online.

None of these are usable

The Vallejo blood paints are gunk, they came in the “Special Effects Set” maybe they sat too long on a store shelf, the green paint won’t come out of the tiny tube either, it is actually Woodland Green or an approximation of it from the Nostalgia 88 range. I’ll have to try Coat D’Arms next. I think most of the paint I ordered online is usable, but I haven’t tried it all, sometimes you just get a bad pot, even from a local store, even after shaking it in the store, but online when it comes in a box, no shaking.

Corax White

This was another pot of paint I got that was bad. I finally chucked it and bought another one. I planed to use it to paint a pale skin tone but it kept rubbing off. I also wanted to use it as the basis of the fire on the Redemptionist Deacon’s helmet. I don’t know how many times I painted the rubbed-off bits. I also had problems with paint rubbing off the resin bases, not the Chaos Black spray primer, but the next coat over that.

You can see how it rubs off the knuckles and you can see the effort that went into the robes of this 6pt model armed with a mighty autopistol and an expensive Forgeworld bit.

WIP Chaos Cultist

Paint it Brown

After painting black and purple robes I still had to paint lots of little bits and because I want my cultists to have a lot of earth tones, I ended up with a variety of browns. These use some of the paint I bought for my WWI project which I abandoned. But by mixing Wargames Foundry, Vallejo and GW paints I get some very realistic browns and khakis. I even use some boring historical colours to get Nurglish results.

The one actual Chaos Cultist in this batch of four models had pants and various straps and pouches and they got the random brown combo treatment. The Redemptionist models had less brown, but they got some Kodiak like boots.

WIP Cultist with brown pants and pouches

Random Nurgle Skintone

While trying out the various paints I’ve acquired over the years, one brown came out of the pot very green. I don’t think it was mixed too well, but I didn’t want to waste the paint so I used it as the basis of Cancerous‘s less human looking skin. I ended up doing a variety of washes and custom blended colours for half a face and one hand.

Eventually I stopped because I was trying to get the models done and I didn’t want to go through too many layers with unpainted portions beside the skin . Also you can see how the damn Corax White kept rubbing off that half of his face. Also note I finally used one of those model holding tools, the Citadel/GW one. I bought it I’d say over a year ago and never used it, I still like to do things the old fashion way, but with all the trouble I was having with paint rubbing off I busted it out, maybe I should buy two or three more.

I know other companies make them, so maybe I should order some rival ones online…

Custom Browns and Greens being built up

Planning my Metallics

WIP Metallic Paint

So I’ve acquired a variety of rust products including the much lauded Dirty Down, but in order to use it I first had to paint metallic paint both silvery and non-silvery all over the models. Once again the Deacon is the most elaborate. I cursed this model many times, especially as I had flamer bits, I didn’t need to buy another box of miniatures just to get the cool flamer guy.

You can see how the Corax White keeps rubbing off the flames. I spent so much time on his head. If you buy this model, paint it in pieces. I redid his face and thus the bars in front of his face at some point. The silvery paint on the joints of his flame thrower tube also kept rubbing off. Luckily the carefully painted black and purple robes didn’t rub off.

Next time I paint more Chaos Cultists they are getting the Contrast Paint treatment. True black and true metallics looks good, but I’ll probably just use lots of earth tones and I won’t be a hurry to paint more Necromunda Redemptionists even though I think I have every one ever made.

Almost Finished Chaos Cultists

Besides spending too much time on the robes, the browns, the metallics of which I think I used a half dozen different shades, I also had to paint the pale blue skin and all sorts of extra details. I used an old GW purple metallic paint on these models. I used new GW Contrast paint heavily thinned with Contrast Medium on the skin. I used lots of sepia but I also used all sorts of other washes sometimes thinned sometimes not thinned. I used Black Green or is it Green Black, I used two types of Vallejo verdigris one from the set I ordered and one I had picked up back in the day but never used.

I did the skulls with Contrast paint and I did the flames with Contrast paint, but then I was going to try stuff. Normally when I paint flames I paint them backwards with the light color on the tips, but not always. This time I decided I was going all out, pure white at the bottom, then I used almost all the yellows and oranges I owned. I used orange ink, orange wash, but then I used red wash too. I painted darker and darker, then I would lighten it, then I would darken it, I should have just done one or two coats like I did the pale blue skin and declared it done, but no, I kept painting and repainting the flames.

So once again the damn Deacon got more work than almost every other model. The hair of the other guy is less coats of paint and basically I did it while I was painting the flames. I also had to touch up the brazier at least once, then I redid the Deacon’s mask from black to purple, his face is probably the least detailed because of the damn cage.

I did use some Fleshtearer Red Contrast paint in his mouth. I used some Contrast paint on the gas mask guy too, but I also used Reaper Master Series paint for the flames and even the bricks. The hand on Cancerous’s belt is mostly Reaper Master Series paints that I was given and had never used. The fresh and dry Vallejo blood effects let me down but after I did the Dirty Down Rust I immediately used Tamiya Clear Red to do some blood effects.

Below you can see the almost finished Chaos Cultists they don’t have the rust or the blood and gore. I’ll also probably do some touch ups and then seal them. Pro tip, seal the models before putting on the Tamiya Clear Red blood and gore.

Almost Finished Death Guard Chaos Cultists

If you think the Death Guard Chaos Cultists look awesome above and that I ruined them by using rust effects and adding blood and gore you can leave a comment below. I promise I’ll put the models in the lightbox again and take even better photos of them all rusty and bloody, or at least a little more rusty and bloody.

Those expecting a battle report will have to wait a few days longer, Bill has been painting models especially to kill toughness three, six point Death Guard Chaos Cultists because they are so fearsome on the tabletop.

Author: Muskie

Making the Internet better since 1995.